Jul 25

WSEMA President’s Update

Hello WSEMA members, I apologize in advance for a rather lengthy email, but a few items require your attention.

WSEMA Business Meeting

There will be some business items that require your vote at this year’s general membership meeting. First, due to an increase in the cost of doing business electronically (website fees, registration portal, the ability to pay dues and conferences via credit card, etc.), the Executive Board and Bylaws Committee is proposing a membership dues increase of $5 – from $75 to $80. Second, we will be voting on new positions on the E-board. We are currently accepting nominations for the following positions:

    1. President Elect
    2. Treasurer
    3. Public Sector Representative
    4. Private Sector Representative

I will collect your nominations, so please feel free to reply to this email.  Please note, all nominees must be WSEMA members in good standing and this always works better when someone is actually aware they’ve been nominated!  Nominations will also be accepted from the floor during the membership meeting.

WSEMA Scholarship Fundraising

Your Joel Aggergaard Scholarship fundraising team is getting busy planning for this year’s WSEMA conference at the Northern Quest Resort.  Building on our best year ever at last year’s joint WSEMA-OEMA conference, they hope to keep things lively and fun while providing multiple ways to support this important scholarship.

Here’s a sneak peek at what’s coming this year:
  • The ever-popular Silent Auction will again feature contributions from the best Washington State has to offer–great wines, cheeses and other regional items often found in basket-style donation.  Please be thinking about a contribution from your jurisdiction or agency that everyone will want to bid for!
  • A few of the donated items will be selected for a quick and lively Live Auction during the Wednesday night dinner event.  Here’s the chance to donate a week’s stay at that mountain cabin of yours!
  • The hugely successful 50/50 Drawing returns again this year.  Last year’s lucky winner walked away with over a thousand dollars cash!!!
  • New this year will be a Heads or Tails game that allows you to call it!
  • As always, Quiet Donation envelopes will be available at tables for anonymous or announced donation, depending on the donor’s choice.
Please contact the team with any questions about Aggergaard Scholarship fundraising at this year’s WSEMA Conference. 
Jennifer Schaal                                 Jesi Chapin                                        Matthew Lieuallen
(253) 720-8551                                   (360) 749-2830                                   (503) 806-9022
[email protected]     [email protected]     [email protected]
Volunteer Management Survey
Carrie Brazil, Volunteer Coordinator with Seattle’s Office of Emergency Management would like your help with an important project. The survey aims to collect operational best practices partners, regional and national, to assist in the strategic expansion of Seattle’s Office of Emergency Management Volunteer Services program.  The survey includes questions regarding both day-to-day volunteer management and specific emergency management.  The survey is pertinent for anyone overseeing and/or directing the work of volunteers within your organization.  Categories of questions fall within the following volunteer management segments:
  • Recruitment, recognition, and retention
  • Policies and procedures
  • Onboarding and training
  • Assignments and roles
  • Programs and funding
The survey will take approximately 10-15 minutes.  https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/YN7YQB6
For the good of the order …
We were asked to share information regarding an upcoming FREE training opportunity, “Disaster Preparedness for Hospitals and Healthcare Organizations” to be held at Pierce College August 10-11, 1016.
Finally, don’t forget to register and book your room for the WSEMA conference. The early bird registration ends July 31 and the hotel is filling up quickly!
Jody Miller, President
Washington State Emergency Management Assoc.
Jul 15

2016 WSEMA Conference Registration is now Open

Good morning WSEMA members,

Your Executive Board and hard-working Conference Committee are pleased to announce registration is now open for the 2016 fall conference, “After the Big One,” Sept. 19-22 at the Northern Quest Resort in Spokane. We encourage you to register and book your room early – there are a couple of high profile concerts on the property that week so they could have a full house. Please click this link to register  https://www.regonline.com/2016washingtonstateemergencymanagementconference or connect via the WSEMA web site. 

 The site is very intuitive and allows you to register for the conference, book your room and pay with a credit card.  The only small issue that could prompt questions is locating the link to Northern Quest lodging.  Please follow the directions below if it is not clear.

1).  When you get to the Lodging page on the Registration Site and want to book a room at Northern Quest, please select “I need accommodations”.

2.  Once you click “I need accommodations”, select “More Information”.  This link will take you directly to Northern Quest Website to book a Room.

If you have questions regarding registration, please contact [email protected]. We should be selecting speakers and have a draft agenda soon. Please pass this along to anyone you think might be interested in attending the conference – membership is encouraged but not required. We hope to see you in Spokane!

Have a great weekend,

Jody Miller, Deputy Director
King County Office of Emergency Management
President, Washington State Emergency Management Assoc.
3511 NE 2nd Street
Renton, WA 98056
Mailstop: ECC-ES-0100
[email protected]
(206) 205-4062 desk
(206) 743-4071 mobile


Mar 14

2016 Joel Aggergaard Memorial Scholarship Application

WSEMA Members & Conference Participants:

Our annual conference is scheduled for the September 19-22, 2016, in Spokane at the Northern Quest Resort.

Those interested in applying for the scholarship need to complete this form: 2016 WSEMA Joel Aggergaard Scholarship Application Applications must be received by close of business on August 1, 2016.

We ask that ALL WSEMA members take the opportunity to support the Joel E. Aggergaard Memorial Scholarship. Your donations of gift baskets, and handmade artwork, jewelry and cultural items, will make a huge impact in the life of a student pursuing an emergency management degree. Please start thinking about your donations now.

Thank you.

Jody Woodcock, WSEMA President

We appreciate your support! Please help us make 2016 the biggest year yet for the Aggergaard Memorial Scholarship.

Please consider contacting any of the three below to make a donation:

 Jesi Chapin                            Matthew Lieuallen           Jennifer Schaal

[email protected]        [email protected]                     [email protected]

Jody Woodcock, WSEMA President

Sep 25

2015/16 WSEMA E-Board

 The WSEMA General Membership met on 09/21/2015, and elected new E-Board Members.Your 2016 Board members are:

  • Jody Woodcock, King County ~ President
  • Ute Weber, City of Tacoma ~ Secretary to the Board
  • Charles Wallace, Grays Harbor County ~ President-Elect
  • Sean Davis, Franklin County ~ Past-President
  • Butch Aiken, Asotin County ~ Treasurer
  • JoAnn Boggs, Pend Oreille County ~ East-Side Representative
  • Jamye Wisecup, Clallam County ~ West-Side Representative
  • VACANT ~ Tribal Nation Liaison
  • Matthew Lieuallen, Ecology and Environment, Inc. ~ Public Sector Representative
  • Scott Heinze, Pierce County ~ Public Sector Representative

Please do not hesitate to contact us at:  [email protected] 

Thank you.

Jody Miller, 2016 President

Washington State Emergency Management Association